Local Business Leaders, Students and Faculty Honored at Annual Recognition Program

Wayne State University’s School of Business Administration selected James B. Nicholson of Grosse Pointe Farms as 2009 MiJames B. Nicholsonchigan Executive of the Year. He is president and chief executive officer of Detroit-based PVS Chemicals, Inc.

The school confers this award annually to recognize a distinguished business leader who contributes to the advancement of the State of Michigan and its citizenry. The award was presented on April 1st at the business school’s Annual Recognition and Awards Program, held at the Detroit Institute of Arts.

Anthony P. FrabottaAnthony P. Frabotta of Rochester Hills was also honored as 2009 Distinguished Alumnus. He is chief executive officer and chairman of UHY Advisors MI and co-chief executive officer of UHY Advisors Inc., the 15th largest services firm in the US. This award is bestowed annually to recognize an alumnus for outstanding personal and professional accomplishments and service to Wayne State University and the community.

In addition to these honors, nearly $500,000 in scholarship funds were awarded to more than 100 students enrolled in the School of Business Administration at Wayne State. Natalie Dean of Woodhaven received the Outstanding Student of the Year award. Only one student of the approximately 3,600 enrolled in Wayne State’s business school receives this award each year. The School of Business Student Senate received the Student Community Service award.

Faculty awards included the Distinguished Research, Distinguished Teacher and Board of Visitors Faculty Fellow awards. Alan Reinstein of Farmington Hills, George R. Husband Professor of Accounting, received the distinguished research award; Mbodja Mougoue of Farmington Hills, associate professor of finance, received the distinguished teacher award; and Mai Iskandar-Datta of Ann Arbor, professor of finance, received the faculty fellow award.

View all news stories