Ilitch School’s Frederick Hessler Student Success Center advising team wins 2021 Outstanding Academic Advising Team Award

Mike Ilitch School of Business Frederick Hessler Student Success Center academic advisors Selvana Evans, Bianca Harris, Heather Laskos, Patricia Michno, Janet Mick, Louise Moceri, Brandi Walthall-Johnson and Mary Zinser have been selected to receive the Wayne State University Advisor Training Academy’s Outstanding Academic Advising Team Award for 2021.

This award is given to advising teams who make an outstanding impact on students and the programs/degrees they support through collective dedication, innovation, collaboration and approach. The Ilitch School’s undergraduate/prospective student advising team was nominated by Linda Zaddach, assistant dean of student services, who provided compelling evidence of exemplary service and impact on Wayne State students.

“The Hessler Center advisors were an exceptional team before the pandemic, and over the past year they have been amazing,” Zaddach said in her nomination. “They have risen to the occasion whether it be working with students during orientation, probation, registration or graduation. Our goal is to always become a partner with our business students to help each student reach their educational goals. Producing successful and happy WSU alumni is what the Hessler team is all about!"

Recipients of all 2021 ATA Advising Awards will be honored at the annual Advising Certification and Awards Program on Dec. 10 with a formal presentation by WSU Associate Provost for Student Success Monica Brockmeyer.

View all news stories