Andrea Tangari, Amanuel Tekleab receive WSU President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Mike Ilitch School of Business Associate Professor of Marketing Andrea Tangari and Professor of Management Amanuel Tekleab are among 10 Wayne State faculty members to receive the university’s prestigious President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching for 2022. Established in 1977, the President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching recognize faculty members across the university who have made outstanding contributions to teaching.

Tangari joined the Ilitch School faculty in 2010. She previously worked for a Fortune 500 company doing market research and managing operations. Tangari teaches marketing, strategy and sustainable business courses at both the M.B.A. and undergraduate levels. She works closely with Ph.D. and M.B.A. student research projects, and Tangari’s own research focuses on consumer welfare and corporate social responsibility issues. She is the faculty advisor for Net Impact, a student organization for those interested in using business as a force to create a positive impact on society. Tangari earned a B.S. in marketing from Indiana University and an M.B.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Arkansas. Tangari was the 2020 recipient of the Ilitch School’s Distinguished Faculty Award for Service and the 2021 recipient of the school’s Inspirational Teacher Award.

Tekleab joined the Ilitch School faculty in 2006. He teaches courses on organizational behavior at both the undergraduate and graduate level. He previously served as the Ilitch School’s Ph.D. program director and has served on numerous dissertation committees. Tekleab’s own research focuses on teams and team processes, psychological contracts, justice issues, leadership and organizational changes. He currently serves as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Managerial Psychology. Tekleab earned a B.S. in business education from Ethiopia’s Addis Ababa University and a Ph.D. in organizational behavior from the University of Maryland, College Park. He received the Ilitch School’s Distinguished Faculty Award for Research in 2010 and the school’s Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching in 2012.

Tangari, Tekleab and their fellow honorees received plaques and a $2,500 cash award at the Academic Recognition Ceremony on April 28 as part of the university’s annual Academic Recognition Week.

View all news stories