Three Ilitch School students awarded $1,000 each in supply chain scholarships

The Delta Nu Alpha Transportation Society recently awarded $1,000 scholarships to three Mike Ilitch School of Business global supply chain management students. The 2022 Memorial Scholarship Program winners are Alex Makowski, Allathea Robbert and Brooke Shears.

The scholarship program is open to undergraduate students studying transportation, logistics or supply chain management. Awards are based on demonstrated scholastic achievement, leadership ability, experience and career commitment.

Makowski, a senior, expressed his gratitude to Lori Sisk, Ilitch School assistant professor of teaching of supply chain management, for encouraging him to apply for scholarships and internships. Makowski is a purchasing intern at Faurecia.

Robbert, a senior, said, “This award will undoubtedly further my academic achievement and allow me to accomplish what I thought was out of reach this year.” Robbert will work a student purchasing co-op assignment this summer with Stellantis.

Shears, a sophomore transfer student from Macomb Community College, said, “Starting school in my late twenties while working and training for the U.S. women’s cricket club, I really appreciate this funding. I am sincerely honored to have been selected.”

John Taylor, Ilitch School associate professor of supply chain management, said these scholarships provide critical support for supply chain students and help bring additional recognition to Wayne State’s nationally ranked program. According to Taylor, students have received $54,000 over the last 13 years.

View all news stories