Ilitch School students, alumni, faculty, friends honored at 36th Annual Recognition and Awards Program

The Wayne State University Mike Ilitch School of Business presented its 36th annual signature awards at the 2016 Recognition and Awards Program on Thursday, Aug. 25, at the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center. 

Nancy Schlichting was named Michigan Executive of the Year. She is chief executive officer of Henry Ford Health System (HFHS), a nationally recognized $5 billion health care organization with 27,000 employees. She is credited with leading the health system through a dramatic financial turnaround and for award-winning patient safety, customer service and diversity initiatives.

Mark Davidoff '81 received the Distinguished Alumni Award. Davidoff is the managing partner of the Michigan practice of Deloitte LLP. He is the organization’s top leader in the state, overseeing more than 1,200 professionals based in Detroit, Grand Rapids and Midland. In addition to serving clients in the marketplace, he is responsible for the strategy, operations, talent and business development of the statewide practice.

Krystina Borrocci '07, '10 won the Emerging Leader Award. As UHY’s director of marketing, Borrocci is responsible for overseeing marketing initiatives in the Midwest and Southeastern regions. Borrocci is based in the firm’s Sterling Heights office and brings several years of experience in marketing and business development. 

Jeff Stoltman won the Inspirational Teacher Award, having been nominated by business alumni. Stoltman has been a member of the Mike Ilitch School of Business marketing faculty since 1988. He teaching focuses on consumer research, retailing and marketing strategy, and many alumni commented on his passion for Detroit.

Top student awards went to Alex Atanasovski and Salma Alazmeh, named Outstanding Students of the Year, and Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key Award winner Tao Tao. Incoming and current student scholarship winners also were honored.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Michigan Executive of the Year Award, Distinguished Alumni Award, Emerging Leader Award and the Inspirational Teacher Award.

2016 Recognition and Awards Program

View all news stories