Frank Venegas, Ronia Kruse among those to be honored at Ilitch Business 39th Annual Recognition and Awards Program

The Wayne State University Mike Ilitch School of Business has announced the 2019 recipients of its signature awards: the Michigan Executive of the Year Award, Distinguished Alumni Award and Emerging Leader Award. The 2019 honorees are:

Michigan Executive of the Year
Frank Venegas, Jr.
Chairman and CEO, Ideal Group

Distinguished Alumni Award
Ronia Kruse
President and CEO, OpTech

Emerging Leader Award
Jason Brown

Inspirational Teacher Award
Deb Jones
Lori Sisk

The honorees will be celebrated at the Ilitch School’s 39th Annual Recognition and Awards Program on Thursday, Oct. 17, at The Roostertail.

In addition to the awardees listed above, the 2019 recipients of the Ilitch School’s Inspirational Teacher Award and Outstanding Student Award also will be honored at the event, which will be emceed by Fox 2 Detroit anchor and reporter Roop Raj.

To purchase tickets, please click here. Sponsorship opportunities are also available. If you are interested in becoming a sponsor, please contact Steve Townsend at or 313-577-0202.

View all news stories